Possession of a Stolen Vehicle: North Carolina Lawyer
Being arrested for Possession of a Stolen Motor Vehicle in North Carolina can for some people be an absolute surprise. Motor vehicles are sold every day in NC and you’d be surprised to find out just how many stolen cars, trucks, vans & motorcycles are out there. But don’t stress, Garrett, Walker, Aycoth & Olson, Attorneys at Law is here to help you with your Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle charges. Let’s go over how stolen vehicle charges work and then create a plan to help you with your case.
- Is Possession of a Stolen Motor Vehicle a Felony in NC?
- How much time do you get for Possession of a Stolen Motor Vehicle in NC?
- What are the Elements of Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle?
- What if I didn’t know the Car was Stolen for a Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle?
- What is the NCGS Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle?
- What is the difference between Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle & Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle?
- Stolen Motor Vehicle Lawyers Greensboro NC
- Garrett, Walker, Aycoth & Olson, Attorneys at Law -Stolen Motor Vehicle Lawyers in Greensboro, NC you can count on!
- GARRETT, WALKER, AYCOTH & OLSON, ATTORNEYS AT LAW
- Greensboro Stolen Motor Vehicle Attorney Google Review
Is Possession of a Stolen Motor Vehicle a Felony in NC?
The quick answer is, Yes. Being caught in Possession of a Stolen Motor Vehicle is a Felony in North Carolina. It’s a Class H Felony and in North Carolina Felony Charges, go from the highest which is Class A, for murder to Class I, for things like PWISD Marijuana. A Possession of a Stolen Motor Vehicle charges is a Class H which is the second lowest level felony charge. This is why recommend speaking with our Top Rated Stolen Stolen Motor Vehicle Lawyers to get started to work on your case today.
How much time do you get for Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle in NC?
With a Stolen Vehicle charge in North Carolina being a Class H felony, the maximum sentence you can receive is 39 months in prison. This would only would apply if you were the highest record level one could be in North Carolina which is a Level 6. A first offender with this charge can go to prison, though, but their maximum sentence is 19 months. A first offender would also be eligible for probation if convicted of felony possession of a vehicle.
This is why it’s vital to speak with our stolen motor vehicle attorneys today to create a plan for your case. At Garrett, Walker, Aycoth & Olson, Attorneys at Law, we have managed time and time again to have a stolen motor vehicle charges reduced to misdemeanor possession of stolen goods charge and in some cases we have even managed to have the charges dismissed for your clients.
The Felony Sentencing Chart shows the possible minimum sentences you would face if you were to be convicted of Felony Possession of a Stolen Motor Vehicle in NC. If you look at the class of the felony which is the row labeled “H” on the left bottom of the chart you will see the sentence you would face, depending on your record level, if you were to be convicted in North Carolina. If the top of the box is labeled C, I, A – this means you can get anything from probation to active jail time. If the box only has an A that means you can only receive active time if convicted.
What are the elements of Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle in NC?
- A person is guilty of being in a possession of a stolen firearm in North Carolina when they:
- A Motor Vehicle
- Stolen or Taken Feloniously
- Knowing or having reasonable grounds to Believe, that the Property was Feloniously Stolen or Taken, and
- With a Dishonest Purpose
These elements are found in NCGS 14-72.
What if I didn’t know the car was stolen for Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle?
In North Carolina, in order to be convicted of Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle, the state must prove that you either knew or should have reasonably known that the vehicle was stolen.
Our Top Rated Criminal Lawyers in Greensboro, spend a lot of time dealing with this issue for our clients charged with Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle.
Often times this issue can boil down to things like was the vin number rubbed off, how much did you pay for the car, should you have known it was stolen based on how good of a deal you got? Those types of things are what come into play when dealing a stolen motor vehicle case in Guilford County, NC.
What is the NCGS Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle?
The North Carolina General Statute governing Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle charges is NCGS 14-72.2. This statute lays out that without the express or implied consent of the owner of the motor vehicle or person in lawful possession, you take or operate the vehicle.
What is the difference between Possession of Stolen Vehicle & Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle?
The difference between Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle & Unauthorized Use of Motor Vehicle is whether the person was given permission to use or operate the vehicle initially. Typically, the person possessing a stolen car has never spoken with true owner to get permission to have the car. Unauthorized Use typically means you were given permission for a certain use and then perhaps you took it for longer than you were supposed to went and did something with the car that you weren’t supposed to.
GARRETT, WALKER, AYCOTH & OLSON, ATTORNEYS AT LAW
317 S. GREENE ST, GREENSBORO, NC 27401
This is why you should contact our – Guilford County & Randolph County – Greensboro, High Point & Asheboro Lawyers to help with your Possession of Stolen Motor Vehicle charges in Greensboro, NC.
Greensboro Stolen Motor Vehicle Attorney Google Reviews:
“I contacted Mr Aycoth in regard to a case I was being tried for. I was looking at a serious felony and I honestly didn’t need that at this time in my life. The DA wasn’t budging on dropping the felony to a misdemeanor. But with the help and advice of Mr Aycoth, my felony was dropped to a misdemeanor!! This news was the highlight of my life! Thanks again Mr Aycoth!! I would DEFINITELY recommend!!” September 3, 2023
5 / 5 Stars