Can a Greensboro criminal defense lawyer explain the registration process for convicted sex offenders? Yes!
One of the consequences for being convicted of a sex crime is the responsibility of the offender to register as a sex offender. North Carolina has a database of registered sex offenders that the public can search. Therefore, it allows any individual to see maps that will pinpoint the location of all sex offenders within a five-mile radius of a specific location. So, essentially you could look up any sex offender within five miles of your home, school, or work. You can receive email and telephone alerts about sex offenders as well. Further, new technology allows you to track sex offenders in North Carolina from an app that can be installed on your cell phone. You may also track specific offenders this way as well. A Greensboro criminal defense lawyer can help you navigate this process.
A sex offender must register and verify their address, or they are guilty of a felony. Sex offenders in North Carolina must register for either up to 30 years, or for life. Lifetime registration can never be changed unless the conviction is overturned or the offender receives an unconditional pardon of innocence. To find out more about lifetime registration about a sex offender, contact a Greensboro criminal defense lawyer today! Individuals who registered for up to 30 years as a sex offender must petition the court within the original county beginning 10 years from the date of the initial registration. The basic requirements to terminate registration this way include the offender being registered for 30 years (as opposed to lifetime), 10 years must have passed, there must be no new offenses or convictions requiring registration, and the court must find that the petitioner is not a threat to public safety.
Ultimately, it is up to the judge to decide whether to terminate the registration. If the judge decides not to grant the petitioner’s wish, they must wait one year be re-filing again. If you think that you may be eligible to terminate your registration as a sex offender, you should contact a Greensboro criminal defense attorney to fully understand all of the requirements. Call 336-379-0539; we are here to help!