The North Carolina law defines an assault on a female as an intentional act to harm or threaten to inflict bodily harm on an individual, specifically a female. The assault is classified as a wide range of behaviors or gestures that make the victim fear for their safety, making them feel in danger.
According to North Carolina law, there are two types of assaults: simple and aggravated assault. The classification between the two is based on the severity of the attack and the extent of the victim’s injury.
Understanding bonds for assault cases in NC is critical for the defendant. It could determine how to secure your temporary release while you await trial for your case. But what is a bond and how much is it? This guide will explore this topic in more detail.
Types of Bail Bonds in NC
If you are arrested for assault on a female in North Carolina, you face a class A1 misdemeanor charge. You have three types of bonds, depending on what applies to the circumstances of your case.
The first one is a secured bond, usually in the form of a cash payment or any property of equal value. The NC court sets the amount and will prompt the defendant to appear in future court proceedings in exchange for their temporary release.
The second type of bond for assault on female cases in NC is an unsecured bond. It will not require the defendant to pay a certain amount to the NC court, but they will sign an agreement citing they will appear in court for the case proceedings. It is a legally binding agreement, which means the defendant must not violate the terms of the bond.
In rare cases, the NC court will require the defendant to sign a written promise to appear in court as required. They will be given an arrest warrant if they fail to appear for their designated court date.
Determining the Bond Amount in North Carolina
If you are charged with an assault on a female case in North Carolina, it’s crucial to know the amount of the bond to facilitate your temporary release. Notably, first-time offenders will have lower bail bond amounts than repeat offenders. Therefore, it is essential to understand the factors that the North Carolina law and court use to determine the bond amount so you have an idea.
First, North Carolina law has a “suggested” bond amount for certain classifications of criminal charges, including assault on a female. The NC court will refer to this bond list, but the judge will have sole discretion on the actual bond, depending on the circumstances and factors surrounding the case.
While the typical bond amount varies significantly in North Carolina, class A1 misdemeanor charges have bond amounts ranging from $500 to $2,500. On the other hand, class A3 misdemeanor charges have bond amounts ranging from $100 to $250. Therefore, the classification of an assault case charged against you is critical because it will determine the bond amount you have to pay for temporary release.
In North Carolina, the magistrate or judge will conduct a pretrial release wherein they will set the bail bond amount. They will examine the defendant’s criminal history, the severity of the offense, ties to the community, and the nature of the assault when setting that amount. The goal of setting the bond amount is to ensure the defendant will appear in court for future proceedings but enough to respect their constitutional right.
The lenience in setting a bond amount to allow the defendant’s release before trial is due to a presumption of innocence. Many individuals are falsely accused of assault cases, and the bond is an opportunity for them to prepare their defense with an assault on a female attorney in NC. It reinforces the principle for the criminal justice system that everyone is innocent until proven guilty.
The next factor the NC court uses to determine the bond amount of female assault cases is the nature and severity of the assault. It looks into the specific details of the assault incident, which includes examining the victim’s injuries (if any). They will also look at the evidence presented, especially for non-physical assaults, such as text messages, emails, or other evidence, to show there was a threat to inflict bodily harm on the victim. If weapons are involved, the defendant will face a higher bond amount.
Another crucial factor for determining the bond amount for an assault on a female case in NC is the defendant’s criminal history. A violent history or previous similar convictions show a pattern on the defendant’s behavior, and thus entail a higher bond amount since they are a risk to the community – and the victim.
In conclusion, the North Carolina bond system focuses on preserving the rights of every individual, including the defendant. If you’re the defendant, you must enlist the help of a defense attorney to prove your innocence. Take advantage of the bond system of the criminal justice court to balance the interest between the victim and the defendant to ensure an equitable legal process.