High Point DWI & DUI: Civil Revocation

In Uncategorized by GWAO

Civil Revocation of your Drivers License

The short version

If your license was suspended for 30 days because you blew a .08 or more on the breathalyzer or because you did not take the breathalyzer, it is essential that you do not drive for 30 days. In some circumstances you may be able to get a limited driving privilege after 10 days without your license. After 30 days you may go to the Clerk of Court’s office and get your license back for a $100.00 fine. If you are caught driving without a license, you may be charged additionally with driving while license revoked.

If you refused the breathalyzer, you will get a letter from the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles suspending your license potentially for one year. If you wish to contest the alleged refusal, you must notify the Department of Motor Vehicles prior to your date of suspension for a hearing. If you fail to do so prior to the date of suspension, it will be too late and you lose your right to a hearing.

Chad D. Garrett
Founding attorney

Chad D. Garrett

Criminal Defense, DWI and Traffic Law

Chad practices criminal defense, DWI and traffic law in Guilford County and across North Carolina. He is the author of ABC's of Traffic Law, ABC's of DWI and DWI Essentials.

  • Continuing Legal Education Instructor of the Year, North Carolina Bar Association
  • Former President, Greensboro Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Board Member, Criminal Justice Section, North Carolina Bar Association
Read Chad's full profile →

Talk to a Greensboro traffic and DWI lawyer today

Bring the citation, any DMV letter and your court date.

Garrett, Walker, Aycoth & Olson, Attorneys at Law
317 South Greene St, Greensboro, NC 27401
(336) 379-0539

Call (336) 379-0539

This article explains North Carolina law in general terms. It is not legal advice about your case, and laws, penalties and court procedures change. Contact an attorney about your specific situation.